Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Added a gimbal and some other goodies!

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by BMc, Mar 26, 2014.

  1. BMc

    BMc

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well, my new parts finally arrived. I already modded my Tx however my gimbal and extended landing gear finally showed up so I installed them this evening. I went against the grain and bought a $100 amazon gimbal and after a fair amount of tinkering it works pretty darn well! I changed the mounting position of the FC40 camera which is still used for FPV. I am now trying to decide whether I want to extend the range of the FC40 cam with a repeater or eliminate it all together and use a 2.4 ghx Tx/Rx system using the gopro video to a monitor on the radio controller.

    Anywho, here is how she is at the moment. No flights yet, need to spend some time with the wife ;)
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Stay tuned for flight videos!
     
  2. bikermike

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    cool, I just got mine, I got like 8 "toy" quads, the FC is my first "good" one, still in the learning stages of function and operation.
    I'll be adding some cool stuff too in the future, I'm not real anxious to take it apart yet tho :)
     
  3. JeffHVT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    Today, I installed my 'goodluckbuy' gimbal. I've started out on the cheap, by just using my FC40 camera (velcroed to the end of the camera mount bar, a delicate balancing job.) Eventually, I will purchase a GoPro. Looks like you are utilizing 3 batteries? I will be anxious to see your flight videos.
     
  4. ericdes

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you post pics of your setup?
    Iam doing the same this weekend.

    Thanks!
     
  5. JeffHVT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    I will try to upload photo. I wrapped a single edge razor blade with electrical tape on the far edge of the camera mount (lightweight filler to cover the mounting slot and give a level platform.) I then put velcro over the tape and on bottom of camera (removed from mounting frame.) Finally, I used the velcro mounting strap (provided with gimbal) to further secure the camera to the mounting bar. I had to experiment with placement to get the balance right and keep the gimbal from going nuts.
    For installation and wiring of the gimbal, I referenced a few youtube videos.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. ericdes

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome, I have the same gimbal which I plugged in without issues.

    I will try this method, did you try flying this way?

    I noticed that the pitch control moves it 180 degrees, pointing up and pointing down.

    Di you leave it this way?
     
  7. JeffHVT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vermont, USA
    Yes, I flew it and liked the camera performance. However, in a strong wind the quad did not respond too well and I crashed. I think I will re-calibrate compass and try to adjust pitch of quad (tips forward on take-off and landing) I left the camera pitch at 180 as I have a 5k pot, on top of xmitter and can easily control it. I did reduce the pitch speed to about 20% to smooth out transitions.
     
  8. BMc

    BMc

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
    I am only running 2 batteries. The space in the craft is empty. I just notched the door so the power lead can pass through with it being latched shut. This particular gimbal is going to need a bit more fine tuning. I have it configured in NAZA assistant and I can control the pitch via the remote however if the gimbal goes more than 45 degrees above or below the horizontal plane, it begins to oscillate from pointing straight up to straight down. I will have to play with the limits some but right now it is set at 0 min and 245 max which lets me point it down a fair bit without it going silly.

    The gimbal motors do make a slight groaning noise (not silent) but it works as it should to autolevel. We will see how it goes but being this is a starter quad, it works as I needed it too!

    I will pony up the bucks on my next multi however if this one plummets from the sky, I won't be out too much!
     
  9. 9Jamie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. ericdes

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see you passed the power wires through the same leg as one of the antennas. Personally I wouldn't do that. Isolate those antennas as much as possible.
     
  11. BMc

    BMc

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
    Finally got outside and flew it. With the new 200 gram cheapo gimbal, 100 gram gopro and twin batteries, she is on the portly side only getting about 8 minutes of flight time. I am going to see how it does on a single 2200 battery and will likely be going to a single 5200 mah battery because it will save me 50 grams while netting 800 mah over my twin battery setup. Anyway, works perfectly. Pitch lever manually controls it. I need to play with the settings more because it wants to go all the way down or all the way up so I need to slow the manual speed way down.

    Anyway, here is a really boring video. You can see at about 2:30 I start hammering it around and was only able to get it to become noticeable when I went at the controls like a madman.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yt4VxNQyELk
     
  12. rustysd

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you put the FC40 camera on a gimbal?

    My gimbal is designed for the GoPro so when I put my FC40 camera on it does not balance because the FC40 cam is too light.
     
  13. T0Rtur3

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0

    I've seen people add weight with screws, pieces of wood, or small sheets of aluminum. Basically just add a little weight, and try it out.
     
  14. hakasan

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    With what did you stick the fc40 camera to the phantom? velcro?
    if so any kind in particular? isn't it a little risky?
    thinking about doing the same

    Thanks!!