Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Add a power switch

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by dorough, Jul 6, 2014.

  1. dorough

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone added a power switch to your FC40? Just thinking it'd be convenient to be able to turn the copter on & off without having to open the battery door & pull the battery out. Got pics or suggestions?
     
  2. lostkiwi

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    It'll need to be pretty heavy to handle the current draw.
     
  3. dorough

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Recommendations?
     
  4. mb_guy

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB. Canada
    Check your local automotive supply. Lots of 12 volt stuff there. Will have be to be rated at 10-15 amps @12 volt. Going to be large, not sure where you'll mount it. I would also suggest dual pole to break both leads.
     
  5. 2014fc40

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought about this myself. Haven't done it yet though.
    Remember when choosing a switch thats rated in 115VAC that the 12volt DC amperage is roughly ten times higher.

    ex: rated 115VAC/10 amps equals 12VDC/100 amps BUT most AC switches aren't designed for DC and cannot handle this much amperage.

    http://www.batterystuff.com/kb/tools/ac ... erter.html
     
  6. Kwas

    Joined:
    May 30, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunny SW Florida
    A single pole switch is smaller than a 2 pole, no sense in breaking both wires when one will do the job.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Add power switch Forum Date
Help Needed, Acc.Power Jack Added, Switched Remote Jack FAIL! Pro/Adv Discussion Jun 25, 2016
Poweradd™ Batteries Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion Feb 13, 2017
How to add a remote channel & power port to Phantom 3 & 4 Pro/Adv Discussion Jul 14, 2016
P3 Firmware Will they add power back on next update ?? Firmware Jan 18, 2016
Adding powerful laser to my P3P? General Discussion Dec 17, 2015