Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Actual Range Explination

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ASATopGun, Feb 6, 2015.

  1. ASATopGun

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright. So I have the Phantom 2 Vision Plus and am confused by all of the specs. Can someone please explain to me what is the actual distance the drone will fly? Is this difference different than how far the Video picks up? Is it farther or shorter distance?
     
  2. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    There are 2 ranges for the TX, CE mode gives you 400 metres = 1312 ft and FCC mode gives you 800 metres =2642ft

    The FPV range is stated as 500-700m = 1640ft to 2296ft

    All ranges are dependant on various factors such as surroundings, weather, terrain.

    CE by the way is what the Europeans will use and FCC is what the Americans etc will use, however there are no rules why we in the Uk cant use FCC mode, I do.
     
  3. BWJ

    BWJ

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark
    And in DK, FCC mode ;)
     
  4. ASATopGun

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I switch to FCC from CE?
     
  5. ASATopGun

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well no. I guess my question is. In Ground Station the max range I can set it at i guess around 1500FT away. How do I change this to be farther?
     
  6. aartsf

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    3
    Within the RC Software you can switch between FCC mode and CE-mode.
    Note: making sure it is in CE-mode can be more difficult though. For that the setting of the set-screw on the back of the TX is also important.
     
  7. kitari

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Paris, TN
    look on the back of your Tx, you'll see 3 holes on the bottom right, the hole that's kinda in the middle of the three holes is the one that lets you switch from FCC to CE. Just get a screwdriver and turn the screw inside either clockwise or counter clockwise and turn the Tx on and listen to the beep(s). If done correctly, 1 beep will mean it's in CE and 2 beeps will mean it's in FCC.

    edit: This is for the FC40, apparently the hole placement on the P2 is different.
     
  8. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    I would be interested in doing this, do you know what the difference in power is, because Ofcom IR2030/1/22 and IR2030/1/23 do specify power limits for 2.4Ghz and 5.8Ghz. So rules DO exist in the UK, but I dont know if the FCC power is within this ?

    Has anyone looked into this ?
     
  9. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    3,436
    It would be good if DJI provided a reference with useful information like this.
    I wonder if the manual covers this ...
    [​IMG]
    I wonder if anything else in there might be useful.
     
  10. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    Holds up sigh "Sarcasm" :roll:
     
  11. Hughie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Leeds, United Kingdom
    There clearly are rules and they are not hard to find, so I am not sure why you would say this.
    The CE setting for the 5.8Ghz Tx (for example) is set to the maximum power permitted in the EU at 25mW, when you set it to the FCC setting you quadruple the power output.

    Most of us do bend the rules, but stating that there aren't any when there are is just unhelpful.