Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. adambfarmer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Fort Irwin, CA
    When my battery is done charging I will be doing an Activetrack following my truck down the road shown in this pic. I will post the video, bad or good, here. Hopefully good. [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Tron_X likes this.
  2. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,964
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Beware, Active track doesn't alter elevation. If your truck gains or decreased in elevation, the P4 stays at the same elevation. However CA will be enabled, so hopefully you won't hit anything. Can you test that too? :rolleyes:
     
  3. Techcop50

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    110
    Location:
    Aiken, SC, USA
    Awesome pic, Adam. Where is that?
     
    SCGENE likes this.
  4. adambfarmer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Fort Irwin, CA
    Rainbow canyon outside Barstow, CA. I posted a few more in the P4 pic and video thread.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. adambfarmer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Fort Irwin, CA
    P4 photos and video


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. adambfarmer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Fort Irwin, CA
    Thanks. I plan on riding in the back of the truck with the RC just in case I need to alter elevation or abort. Haha


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. Tron_X

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    NH
    Beautiful place, thanks for sharing... and looking forward to seeing the vid!
     
  8. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,964
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    #8 John Locke, Mar 15, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2016
    fatboypup and mirrorimage like this.
  9. sgs182

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you're curious to see activetrack work without flying you can set your P4 on a table and go through all the menus to enable it. It works surprisingly well and it's pretty cool seeing the track in action.
     
  10. NorthcountySD

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    North County San Diego
    What!!! The active track doesn't change elevation?
     
  11. sgs182

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure if it does or doesn't change elevation. My guess is it won't and that's up to the pilot to control…
     
  12. NorthcountySD

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    North County San Diego
    So much for it following me on a downhill single track on my mountain bike. I can always get someone else to pilot it. I'll attempt this weekend and see what happens
     
  13. sgs182

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's exactly what I was hoping to use it for. Curious to see how it goes.
     
  14. Cale262

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Alberta/Arizona
    It would be nice if it was on a virtual tether and would maintained altitude & distance away from the target. For example, maintaining 5m away and 5m above target.
     
  15. sgs182

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    That would be the ideal default. Let's hope it works that way!
     
  16. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,964
    Likes Received:
    1,113
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    To do that you would need something on the target telling the craft what it's elevation is.

    I believe Autopilot with Air Space does this using a phone with the airspace app planted on the target.

    However it's going to be a while before autopilot will run on P4.
     
    #16 John Locke, Mar 15, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2016
    NorthcountySD likes this.
  17. Cale262

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Alberta/Arizona
    I kinda was hoping the proximity sensors could measure that...I guess we'll all find out soon.
     
  18. adambfarmer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Fort Irwin, CA
    Does not change elevation. I was driving up hill and had to constantly climb in elevation. Such a disappointment. Video will be up soon.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    curiosity likes this.
  19. adambfarmer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Fort Irwin, CA
    Good news is that I didn't run into anything. It stopped when it got to close to something and it stopped when it lost visual.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    curiosity likes this.
  20. NorthcountySD

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    North County San Diego
    The only way I know how to do that is with the auto flight logic app. Uses the barometer in the iPad to adjust elevation. Hope they update and incorporate the P4 soon.