Accucel 6 + Car

Reaction score
Hi guys, just on my way out to the countryside with my Phantom and 6 batteries...

I've got an Accucel 6 and the crocodile clips, and gonna try and charge my lipos off the car for the first time.

Anyone got any tips? I'm assuming I should start the engine once the charger is connected, then plug in the lipos, then keep the rate at 2.2A. I actually have 2 chargers with me so hoping to run both at the same time.

Anyone know of any reason not to? Electronically it works out fine I think?

Hey Dom,

I'm not an electrical engineer or anything, so be safe and take this with a grain of salt. Your LiPos are measured in milliamp hours, your car battery in amp hours. Your LiPos are weighed in grams, your car battery in kilograms. I honestly don't think you need to run the car engine while you charge those tiny batteries, maybe run it for a couple of minutes in-between charging sessions... I just can't imagine your LiPo charger running your car battery flat charging one LiPo pack.

I too have a charger which is DC capable, but have not yet tried this out. I certainly don't want you to be stranded in the countryside though! If you have a voltmeter, even a cheap one, maybe do the following:
1. Take a reading of the car battery with the engine off before charging
2. Another reading with the engine running
3. A reading after charging a pack, without the engine running

I am fairly certain you'll be safe charging a single pack without running the engine.

I hope you have a good time flying!

Cheers,
Paul

Sorry can't give an answer, but to ask a question about your setup: Do you attach the alligator clips to the prongs within the XT60 connectors? I am looking to get a 4 pack charger and wondering if I can use the default gator clips they come with in any way...

Good luck, don't get stranded.

Did it all fine. I ran the engine just in case, but pretty sure it would be fine to run a few without the engine running.