About to buy a P4P

Reaction score
G'day all,
I have just registered on the forum so i'm new to drones so please forgive my lack of knowledge. I have been thinking of buying a drone for a while after seeing some videos. As i'm retiring in about 18months i wanted to get into photography and using a drone has gotten my imagination revving. My wife and i are travelling down to our son's farm next week to help out as our young grandson has been involved in a terrible accident. He was using a hydraulic logsplitter and had his thumb completely severed, so we are heading there to help where ever we can. I started thinking, what a fantastic place to learn to use a drone with it's wide open spaces !!
My first order of business is to buy a drone and after much research i have decided to buy a DJI Phantom 4 Pro. I hae checked out the prices from various retail outlets here in Aust and i have to admit, the good ol' Ebay is way cheaper. I'm hoping to order one online this weekend. I will also order a spare battery and a carry case of some description as well as a set of filters. I'm sure the accessories will probably not be the best of choices at this stage but as they're not big $$ items, i can easily upgrade later on. The main thing is to take advantage of our trip to the farm so i can get started and practise learning to fly etc. As i get into it more i will certainly be looking for advice on a whole range of questions but anything you can suggest at the moment would be hugely appreciated !! Cheers..... SharpShooter.