A Few Beginners Questions

Reaction score
Hey everyone. I just purchased a DJI Phantom from a friend who was wanting to upgrade and I've got most of the basics down but I need some help. My Phantom has a beholder gimble that holds my GoPro Hero3+ Silver and I have a Kumba Cam Advanced FPV system. I have a few basic questions and then some more complicated (at least to me) questions.

1. What is the maximum (SAFE) flying altitude? If you go out of range vertically will the GPS system bring the drone back down and land using GPS mode like it would if you were horizontally to far out of range?

2. I'm wanting to increase flight time. Help? I have been researching using two batteries instead of one and using Phantom 2 propellers. Do these extend flight time? Are there other ways to increase my flight time? http://www.helipal.com/external-battery-mount-for-dji-phantom.html This was one way I found for two batteries?

3. My FPV system gets fuzzy around .3 miles away if theres any metal or anything around. Is it possible to change frequencies to improve this or am I just limited?

You can obviously tell I'm just starting out and I don't understand the battery calculations or how the frequencies work. I would LOVE some help to get my system as efficient as possible.

Thank you so much!
Gavin

Hi Gavin,

Welcome to the forum......

OK taking your questions in order: