A different kind of crash

Reaction score
I've been flying my P2V for 6 months and have never had anything like this. This afternoon, during an otherwise uneventful, compass-calibrated, GPS locked flight of my P2V, with the copter at 175 ft altitude and approximately 200 feet away, with an unobstructed line of sight view, i suddenly lost camera signal, and telemetry, but had flight control; then 5 seconds later the aircraft dropped tumbling from the sky into a dense forest. It is lost & I really doubt we'll ever find it.

1) What happened?
2) this has really made me think about safety. If it had fallen on someone, it could have been a problem.

More details please! Which version? 3.04? Battery issues?

You need to find it and look inside, could be bad solder connections, bad connection at battery slide in, etc., etc....

I too have been flying for 6 months, about 200+ flights, just installed v3.04 and she just does not handle like the rock-solid she was before to update.

I was running the Nov 2013 version 1.05 and had been in no rush to update given the issues reported by others.
No battery issues.
I would love to find the bird but I don't know if we will have that luck -- it went down in a really dense thicket which is impossible to penetrate without a machete.
What are the odds DJI will respond to my inquiry?

Sounds to me like this calls for a rescue mission. Do you happen to know anyone in your area with an aerial setup? That could fly over the area where you lost it and try to spot it from above?

You would almost think that it would be somewhat on top of all the thick brush if it was that dense.

Also this is on prime example why i havent updated yet. But if it was a faulty soldering point then this is important too because it gives us more statistics on just how bad they are. Plus if you can retrieve it, you could send it in and have them fix the issues. A bad as i hate to say that.