Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

A compact PC for connecting to your Phantom in the field.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SaintChachi, Mar 4, 2015.

1. SaintChachi

As a new DJI owner, I wanted something to take into the field with me in order to make changes as needed to the unit itself. I do have an old Windows laptop, but it's bulky and heavy as well. I came across the HP Stream 7, a FULL Windows 8.1 tablet in a compact form. They are normally $99, but are on sale for $79. Heck, Windows 8 by itself is $119! Included is a full year of Microsoft Office (again, full version) which normally is $69. So, I rolled the dice and bought one. I'm glad I did. I won't give you a review of the tablet itself, but plenty of reputable websites can do that for me.

I purchased the tablet, a leather case from ebay (with a compact bluetooth keyboard included) and a USB to micro USB adapter for less than $125. I've been a professional tech for 20 years, but I still can't believe that. This isn't some watered down version of Windows like RT, or a cellphone OS like Android or iOS - but a full copy of Windows on a quadcore tablet for less than the cost of Windows itself! [Note: The USB to micro USB adapter is required to hook the HP Stream 7's own micro USB to the Phantom's micro USB.]

I hooked everything up, and it works just as it should. If you are looking for some great compact field gear to run you Phantom, replace a laptop, or anything you might want a Windows PC for consider one of these. I bought mine from the Microsoft online store directly.

Below is a pic of everything working.

https://onedrive.live.com/redir?res...authkey=!AHb0utNlFt2paso&v=3&ithint=photo,jpg

2. IflyinWY

Re: A compact PC for connecting to your Phantom in the field

Well done SaintChachi, and thank you for sharing. :D

I found the tablet here:
    http://www.microsoftstore.com/store/msu ... .308781500
    The price wouldn't show until I added it to the cart, and 79 American clams... nice.