9 Days In

Reaction score
Hey guys and gals! I'm new to drones. Thought I'd buy one. Had a couple toys, you know the small quads. I like to research things and learn all about what I'm doing. It's a bit scary the first time but it's actually easy if you do nothing stupid. I want longer range. I seen a video of a cd on the antenna. So I tried. I went .594 of a mile today in a rural area. It lost video but I could still control it. Brought it home after that happy. Need to take it to the country and see how far it will fly. Btw I'm flying a P3S. These things are awesome!! Thanks in advance and for the topic already posted. I've learned a lot in the past 9 days!
449528b8be916d080b5ad8767603bc67.jpg

Half of a mile is not bad. I get that range with the parabolic anntena.

I ordered some cheap generic wifi panels off of ebay and I have been out well over a mile with a solid connection.
Antenna modifications aren't hard, you just need to be extremely careful with removing the old antennas and drilling holes for the new ones.

I ordered some cheap generic wifi panels off of ebay and I have been out well over a mile with a solid connection.
Antenna modifications aren't hard, you just need to be extremely careful with removing the old antennas and drilling holes for the new ones.
That's something I rather avoid, even if it's easy to do. I rather upgrade to a phantom advanced.

That's something I rather avoid, even if it's easy to do. I rather upgrade to a phantom advanced.
I agree modifications aren't for everyone and I think adding amps with extra batteries and giant antennas that look like you're trying to track aliens with are excessive for something the adv/pro can do stock. But $35 to double my range was hard to pass up.