Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

8 wire cable too short

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-2D GoPro Gimbal' started by bern, Sep 15, 2013.

  1. bern

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Milan, MI
    I have installed the upgrade board without a problem, and am in the process of installing the Zenmuse gimbal. When following the instructions exactly, the 8 conductor wire is about 1.5 inches too short to reach from the board through the recommended hole to the gimbal connector. My wire is about 6.75 inches (17 cm) long. Has anybody else had that problem? How long is the 8 conductor wire when you have no problem?

    Never mind. I found a longer wire among the stuff I didn't think I would need because I had done the upgrade. The wire I did use must be for some other quadcopter because there does not seem to be a use for it with the Phantom.
     
  2. ChrisJ

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a longer one that comes with the Zenmuse.
     
  3. bern

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Milan, MI
    Thanks. I read your message seconds after I tore everything apart and found it. I should read more and tear less :D
     
  4. SimonB

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Pleased to see I wasn't the only one :lol:
     
  5. Mosher42

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did exactly the same. Why ship it with a cable which I blatantly too short?!
     
  6. netphreak

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which hole are you running the cable through?I have no problems if I run it out the back left hole of the phantom.
     
  7. whoutman

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Exactly, the install video and manual are wrong, you have to plug the cable in the wrong hole and then it will work great.
     
  8. netphreak

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just watched that video, it's pretty backwards. We swap the antenna to that front hole, and run the gimbal wire down the back leg... It makes a little more sense :)