Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

5V power from Phantom

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by wharfbanger, Jun 21, 2014.

  1. wharfbanger

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    I apologize in advance for posting on the P2 forum, but hoping to tap into the DIY experience here..

    Just wondering if it is possible to supply a thermal camera with on-board 5V power from the Phantom?

    I am a geothermal scientist and have purchased a Vision 2+ for research. I am planning to remove the stock camera/gimbal (temporarily) and fit a Flir thermal camera. The Flir camera requires an accessory for data capture that uses mini USB for power (5V 200mA):

    http://www.teax-tec.de/fileadmin/datash ... ure_en.pdf

    I guess the alternative is to just find a small 5V battery.

    Cheers,
    Mark
     
  2. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,922
    Likes Received:
    1,799
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    There are 5V lines you can tap but I am not sure if they'll have 200mA to spare. I can't recall off the top of my head where you can tap them. The other option is a simple buck converter that taps the main power.
     
  3. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Well the output ports on the NAZA have 5v pins but Iike Ian said I don't know if they'll do 200mA. I'm not aware of anywhere else you can directly tap 5v power in a Phantom, however you could run a lead off the main battery power line and connect a BEC to step it down to 5v, like this one: http://www.readymaderc.com/store/index. ... ts_id=2938

    Like you said, if you can find a 5v batt that's small enough and has enough power that might be the better option in your case...but only if the weight of it is less than the BEC and/or whatever other wiring you'd have to add in place of a batt.
     
  4. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,245
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
  5. The Editor

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    7
  6. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,922
    Likes Received:
    1,799
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
  7. AnselA

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Declination +8° 11'
  8. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    I wouldn't draw 1w out of the pmu integrated on the mainboard, but if you want it, it's 5v out of the x3 power lead.

    I'm drawing 2w out of pmu unconnected to a Naza.
     
  9. AnselA

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    896
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Declination +8° 11'
    What's pmu?
     
  10. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    the power management unit, it's a bec and can be on the he mainboard, or a separate dedicated unit. It is what provides power to your Naza, gps, rx, and some ESCs (not on the p2).

    The overriding consideration is not to draw much power from the Naza or TBE same circuit delivering low voltage to the Naza. Flight controller brown out = bad day.
     
  11. wharfbanger

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    Heavier than a bec but should work. Note that the description notes 5.6v output. Most devices rated 5v are tolerant of 1-1.5v swings, especially USB devices like the FLIR. But on something that expensive, make sure of the fact first. I have some LED modules that are rated 5v but cannot take 6v.
     
  13. PhantomRock

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    A little off topic, but the reason many have not implemented FLIR was because of the high price tag, and the worry of having such expensive equipment on the phantom.

    I wonder about a hacked FLIR with a new lens.

    http://hackaday.com/2013/11/04/manufact ... end-model/
    http://hackaday.com/2013/12/09/40-lens- ... esolution/

    If we can possibly take a hacked $1000 FLIR camera and somehow mount this on the Phantom with a modified lens, that would be a game changer for this project.