Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

500 meter altitude limit

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Chris Vedeler, Jul 31, 2015.

  1. Chris Vedeler

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Scottsdale, Arizona USA
    Is there any work around of the 500 meter limit? I hit that limit today and I could have easily gone another 100 meters to get above the mountain I was filming. You can see the video here:

     
    nobr3ga and Jacques Sauvé like this.
  2. zzkazu

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Canberra ACT
    I don't even have my phantom yet but understand its a setting in the app..
     
  3. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,734
    Likes Received:
    3,451
    No .. and the setting in the app allows you to set limits less than 500 metres - but not more.
     
  4. kdrak

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    27

    I do not know if it is true or not but I have read that if you configure your RTH height ie 600 meter and while flying at the limit of 500 meter you hit the return to home then P3 will fly to 600 meter. So when you hit 600 meter you cancel the RTH and then you are height limit free !
     
  5. Scott7161

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    For filming such as this, it would be useful to have a way to film above 500M. I wish there was a way with the P3, but the only way I know of for now is a P2.
     
  6. AndyS

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    20
    For what it's worth, I haven't even managed to get near 500 meters yet with my P3P - I keep getting weak RC signal flash up when I get to about 300 meters, even if it's almost directly overhead. Nice looking video though, shame there's nothing quite as majestic as that in South East London to film
    :)
     
    D4T_PoM likes this.
  7. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    I dont know why they imposed this limit. I have the same problem cant fly over some mountains. Airliners fly at 30,000 feet so not much chance of hitting one of those. Obviously if you fly near an airport you could but then if you are that stupid the 500m limit wont protect anyone.
     
    desertcat likes this.
  8. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    500 m is from launch location, so if you start higher ....
     
    Oso likes this.
  9. AndyS

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    20
  10. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    Video looked good even at that height.
     
  11. rwakins

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    22
    I thought the 500 m could be turned off which sets it to no limit?
     
  12. atki

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    61
    You can get past the 500 metre limit.
     
  13. tvckz

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    TVC
    Read that thread above yours. I repeat it is not my flying experience. I will never do that today. May be tomorrow.

    No more limits. Do not do it.
     
  14. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,734
    Likes Received:
    3,451
    There's a lot more in the sky than high altitude jet aircraft.
     
    JBG likes this.
  15. snowghost

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    Private aircraft at 1000' urban or 500' rural areas for starters.
     
  16. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    1,480
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    You can disable the distance limit, not the altitude.
     
  17. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    1,480
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Directly overhead can often be an issue unless you correctly orient your antenna. I try to avoid directly overhead as much as I can.
     
    JoBe likes this.
  18. Chris Vedeler

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Scottsdale, Arizona USA
    Thanks everyone! The RTH work around isn't practical for what I want to do as I'm not trying to get altitude for altitude sake but rather to take nice video over mountains. Home is in the valley below and so it would take me away from what I am trying to shoot. Also battery power is at a premium at that distance and altitude, I can't be returning home to climb and them fly back at 600 meters for my video.

    I'm totally fine with the 400 foot limit above the ground from the FAA. I just wish it took into account the fact that the world isn't flat..

    I thought about starting higher robinb. But in 100 degree heat, it is nice to be around shade and not have to hike almost a mile in. Also the approach to the mountain was part of what I wanted to capture.
     
  19. Kaehn

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    183
    You can change the max altitude in Litchi, although the P3 app is not released yet (in testing).
     
  20. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    Third part apps you can set the altitude and distance to your liking. Keep in mind safety. Check out www.flylitchi.com p3 app will be forthcoming i