Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

5.8ghz reciever conversion

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Mods' started by brizey, May 16, 2014.

  1. brizey

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Just for anyone who wanted to know the 5.8ghz vision TX/RX works perfect on the 2. I needed to keep 2.4 clean for another sensor for the project I'm working on and used the vision receiver and remote on it and its flawless.
     
  2. FedeVision

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2014
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    San Jose, Costa Rica
    Hey, thank you for sharing this info, good to know it is possible to shift frequencies without issues.
    I was wondering about it like 3 weeks ago. :D
     
  3. CameraGuy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    1

    Thank You for this. I just ordered a P2 H3 3D and the 5.8GHz tx/rx kit and wanted to do the swap to minimize the interference from things like microwaves, and power cables.

    Did you find a more stable aircraft?

    Darren
     
  4. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    The Low Lands
    Has nothing to do with the flying characteristics of the craft. You only change the control frequency band from 2.4 to 5.8 effectively limiting your control range from the original +2KM down to 500-800 meters. Other than that, the quad remains the same and flies exactly the same, only on a different frequency band.
     
  5. daveloves

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Jersey
    I know this is an old thread but wanted to ask if you know what I am doing wrong. I took a P1 which is 2.4 and changed the receiver board to a P2 5.8 and using a Phantom 2 2v remote I get it to bind but still gives me a fast yellow blinking light. Won't arm.. Help appreciated
     
  6. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,105
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    If you turn the RC controller over and read the tag you should be able to answer your own question.
     
  7. daveloves

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Ok I looked up the model number and says for fc40
    Well, guess that's what happens when you get older, just not thinking correctly. Ok so what would you recommend to me? Perhaps you know what is the correct Remote for this Phantom it is model P330 DJI Says it is just P1 because it has 2.4. I have a new 5.8 receiver installed but guess I just need the correct remote..
    Thanks for any help