4k TV won't play 2k7 footage

Reaction score
Hi guys.
I'm new to the drone scene and have recently bought myself a P3A.
After a few flights and being really impressed I realised I was only shooting footage in 1080 and not 2k7.
I obviously changed the setting and tried again only to realise that none of my equipment (tv/computer) were good enough to play the footage adequately.
I liked being able to play the footage on my TV but my Samsung tv not being a 4k TV would only play the 1080 @ 25fps. At 50fps it showed an error, and the 2k7 was obviously never going to happen.
I had already been considering updating the TV to new 4k samsung series 9, and if it played the 2k7 footage would help justify the upgrade.
I took a memory card to my local TV store to check the new tv would play the footage before parting with my £££s.
Dissapointingly I could not get the Samsung to play the higher resolution footage.
We thought it might be because my footage was in mov format but I went back with an mp4 file and that wouldn't work either.
I can't undertand why a 4k TV can't play the 2k7 footage.
Does anybody have any idea.

The only thing 2.7k footage is good for is to crop it in post down to 1080p and then you have essentially zoomed the footage in a bit.

Reactions: liketogethigh
Hi guys.
I'm new to the drone scene and have recently bought myself a P3A.
After a few flights and being really impressed I realised I was only shooting footage in 1080 and not 2k7.
I obviously changed the setting and tried again only to realise that none of my equipment (tv/computer) were good enough to play the footage adequately.
I liked being able to play the footage on my TV but my Samsung tv not being a 4k TV would only play the 1080 @ 25fps. At 50fps it showed an error, and the 2k7 was obviously never going to happen.
I had already been considering updating the TV to new 4k samsung series 9, and if it played the 2k7 footage would help justify the upgrade.