Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

3D - 2D GoPro connector mod issue

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal' started by Eos630, Jun 15, 2014.

  1. Eos630

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    I unscrewed the GoPro back connector from my 2D and put it in my 3D, but the screws for the mounting bracket don't fit the 3D.

    In other words, I can't attach the little C-bracket that holds the GoPro connector in the gimbal. On the 2D, the holes are slightly smaller. On the 3D, they're not only bigger, but they go straight through the back of the gimbal.

    Has anyone else seen this issue?
     
  2. gppms

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Greece.
    Yes of course you can't use the screws from the 2D to the 3D.You have to find small screws with nuts.Me as a modeler for years i have many screws for my helicopters and i found the right ones with small nuts.
     
  3. Bluegrass

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't done the mod yet using the part from my broken 2d gimbal but I have been following what others or doing and they say that screwing the C bracket down isn't necessary that they just placed it in place and put the camera into the plug. I'll see how things look when I decide to convert. Just passing on what I've read from several other people that did the mod and didn't bother with screws in the C clamp.
     
  4. gppms

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Greece.
    Yes of course it's not necessary to screw the c clamp but you have to be careful when you are going to take out the gopro from the gimbal because it is very easy to destroy the ribbon cable of the plug.
     
  5. Eos630

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    I kind of think if you found the right screws, you wouldn't need to use nuts as well. In any case, if you want to remove your GoPro from the gimbal, you'll definitely want the C bracket in there. The ribbon cable is going to tear without it.

    To solve the problem, I removed the backplate from my 2D and used it on my 3D. Now everything screws in place as it should and the gimbal still balances level.
     
  6. britchris1

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Get some small black zip ties, pull the thin end through the holes from the back (I used needle nose pliers) until its tight. Snip off the front side as close as possible to the gimbal plate. Keep pulling from the back so that the ties sit flush inside the holes, then snip off the back.

    It secures the c plate and the plug perfectly and it doesnt move an inch.

    https://www.dropbox.com/s/54a4ni3k1nmrg ... .29.36.jpg
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/kn685gn7wh6s1 ... .30.01.jpg
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/s2y14n58sf7rd ... .31.40.jpg
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/osv2apnzo31wj ... .31.44.jpg
     
  7. Away Point

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    I went even lower tech!

    Small black twist-tie... I flattened out the center of the tie, then bent nice sharp 90°'s with pliers to line up with the holes.