Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

3 PRO @ 1080P?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Colowyo, Sep 22, 2016.

  1. Colowyo

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, I've tried to get an answer and I just can't find it. Can you film in 1080P instead of 4K on the Pro? I think I'm gonna go pick one up tomorrow and just want to make sure I'm getting the best DJI for what I'd like. I don't think I'd have much difficulty with the 4k on my computer, but I also think the 3 Adv would certainly do what I'd like it to do.

    Thanks.
     
  2. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,143
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Yes you can film in 1080p format.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  3. matti

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    62
    You get the best quality and best possibilities to cropping (fixing the tilted horizon, for example) by shooting 4K (preferably 16:9 3840 x 2160) and outputting HD. But you can also shoot HD with the P3P.
     
  4. mikej

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    11
    I am experiencing a problem with gimbal drift - the horizon is level in the viewer, then drifts down on left side of screen. The craft is hovering 80 +/- feet and I am not touching the controls. Your thoughts please.


    Sent from my SM-N920R7 using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. matti

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    62
    You can calibrate the IMU & gimbal with the AC feet or props level. But even if you very carefully do that, sometimes the horizon is 1-2 degrees tilted. There are numerous threads about this and I have tried all recommended voodoo.

    ...but it can be fixed in post. Or in addtion to that:

    Get airborne, climb to a height that gives you a clean horizon to the preferred direction. Then manually change the gimbal roll in the DJI GO app > Gimbal Param Settings > Adjust Gimbal Roll lets you adjust the horizon in 0.2 degree increments. Or just press C2 & turn right thumbwheel.
     
  6. mikej

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    11
  7. Colowyo

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys for answering my question. I really appreciate it. Seems like the Pro would be the way to go even though I've been leaning towards the Advanced. I'd rather have the option to film in 4k but was kinda concerned about my Mac. But if I can film in 1080P, then that seems to make the most sense.
     
  8. kennedye

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2015
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Seattle/Everett area
    The way I look at it, computers will only get faster and TVs will only get better, but footage can be difficult to impossible to capture again, so even though I don't have a 4K set yet and my MacBook Air is pushing five years old at this point and can barely play 1080p anymore (I mostly edit on a 2010 Mac Pro) I shoot 90% o the time in 4K/24fps. Your future self will thank you. :p
     
  9. matti

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    62
    Yes. I currently shoot 4K and output HD. But I archive the best original 4K (after trimming unnecessary footage off with MPEG Streamclip).

    My editing and post-processing skills might also get better in the future.
     
  10. Colowyo

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys. I went ahead and ordered the 3 Pro. I downloaded b4ufly last night and found out there's a little airport three miles away from my house. Looks closed to me. But I guess I'll be trying to make contact with them.

    Another question, on the GO app, will I have an issue flying with the runway 3 miles away? We're talking a 500' grass strip. Will the software even let me fly? I'm assuming there is an option to select that I have permission.
     
  11. MartyPilot

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    3
    The go app will only alert you but you can bypass the warning or if you use a different app you will be able to fly but legally you don't have the right to fly there without a special permission for sure so if you do it anyway it's on you.

    Sent from my SM-G870W using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. Colowyo

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh yeah. I'm definitely gonna go about it legal. I have an ATP and don't want to do anything illegal. I was just wondering about after I attempted to notify them.

    Thanks for the replies.
     
  13. m0j0

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    530
    +1

    Future proof is getting the highest resolution available. Archive the 4k and output to your current liking.. Although 4K is getting more and more affordable.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots