Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

3 defective GoPro 3+ Black Editions in a row!!!

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by nzvideoguys, Jul 29, 2014.

  1. nzvideoguys

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    On my way back from India to NZ in April 2014 I stopped over in Singapore. I bought a GoPro Black Edition 3+ from one of the stores at the airport. It was working fine on my Phantom 2 with H3-3D gimbal, for about a week, until I updated the firmware. Then it died. I posted it back to Singapore, after a lengthy process with GoPro support, and a few weeks later another 3+ arrived. It worked for a short time, then died. Absolutely dead. Once again, go through the drama with GoPro support, ship it back to Singapore, and after a few weeks another one arrives. Unpack it, insert a battery, push power.... nothing. Dead. WTF is this? Some sort of sick joke? How are others experiencing the GoPro BE 3+ in terms of reliability?
    It's now the end of July and I'm looking at getting a fourth GoPro camera. Madness.
     
  2. honcho

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi, I also thought mine was dead, no reaction to any buttons, just blank.
    but then I noticed that you can reset it by pressing the top button and the front button at the same time.. I don't really remember how but keep pressing those two for a few seconds and It should reboot with standard settings.
     
  3. Buk

    Buk

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Iowa, United States
  4. nzvideoguys

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    Yes that's called a "hard reset". It produced zero results.
     
  5. nzvideoguys

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    I've tried different memory cards, and they're all the recommended type as per GoPro link. Sandisk and Lexar High Speed.
    I know for a fact that the battery that came with this latest replacement camera is dead. It won't power the camera, and it won't charge when connected to USB.

    It just seems to me that GoPro cameras in general are very buggy, as I know a number of people who say they have to take the battery out and reinsert it whenever the camera freezes up.
    Basically cheap **** masquerading as quality.
     
  6. adanac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NYC
    Sounds like terrible bad luck. Mine work fine. Well, I have had some minor bugs in that I've had it freeze and have had to take the battery out. This happens occasionally, but I've never had a dead one, much less three in a row.
     
  7. Buk

    Buk

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Iowa, United States