Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

3 axis gimbal

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Insight Aerials, Jan 24, 2014.

  1. Insight Aerials

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norman, OK
    Has anyone tried this gimbal or know anything about it?
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2.JPG
      2.JPG
      File size:
      25.1 KB
      Views:
      761
  2. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    Never seen it before.
    .. nor a camera like that! (a GoPro alternative?)

    but just by looking at the photo, it's fairly obvious that it will not easily fit under a Phantom.

    if you're serious about a 3-axis gimbal, perhaps look at the Arris CM3000, or this one, which looks like it'll fit just like a Tarot
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/251416993644?lpid=82

    (tho haven't heard from anyone who's bought this one)
     
  3. Insight Aerials

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norman, OK
    They say it is made for the Phantom. I went ahead and bought one for $130. Had to give it a shot. Should work well with the retractable landing gear I'm putting on. Hopefully!!!

    What makes it obvious it's not made for the Phantom? It has the correct mount for it.
     
  4. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    The design that it uses puts the yaw motor much lower than other 3-axis gimbal designs, so just by the looks of it, there's now ay it'll fit under a stock phantom - not unless you add leg extensions.. or the rectracts you're putting in.
    hopefully it won't be too heavy.
    But looking forward to hearing how it works for you.

    3-axis gimbals will slowly become the norm, once DJI puts one out (for GoPro)
     
  5. Insight Aerials

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norman, OK
    I see what your saying. All I can do is give it a try. There will be enough clearance with the retractable's. If not, I can always easily make taller legs since their carbon fiber rods. I'll let you know how it all turns out.
     
  6. djiatl

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Insight - will you post a link to the retractable landing gear you are referring to? Sounds really neat.
     
  7. Insight Aerials

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norman, OK
    Im having them custom made from an individual. Ill post some pics of it as soon as I get them.
     
  8. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    Just an FYI - our local shop, Hobby Warehouse is supposed to be getting in this week a 3rd axis add on for Zenmuse H3-2D. Saw pictures but haven't seen it up close. Looks like it adds board & motor above existing gimbal. Word has it it's about $180. Will follow up with info when I see it later this week.
     
  9. Ravecreative

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medway, Kent, UK
    Wow.
    If they do that I think they'll sell thousands LOL
    It's pretty much what everyone has been waiting for

    Have you got any links?
     
  10. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    Nothing yet, I'm waiting to see it first hand sometime this week. I'll post more when I see it.
     
  11. Ksc

    Ksc

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    The thing with a 3rd axis is that if you wish to control it, you need another channel. Can't use the stock tx. I'd like to know how much your retractable legs weigh. I'm not sure you'll get great results. The weight issue and compass location issue is going to make it a little bit difficult. It would work on a 550 though.
     
  12. havasuphoto

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Lake Havasu, AZ
    There's already some guys in Southern California that make this exact set-up.
    http://tppacks.com/store/index.php?route=product/product&path=60&product_id=60

    I'm also interested in seeing if Zen comes out with something-and how it differs from this other unit.
     
  13. Ravecreative

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medway, Kent, UK
    That weight would bring the phantom to well over max payload.
    I wonder how much that would actually matter?
     
  14. havasuphoto

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Lake Havasu, AZ
    What do you consider maximum? I fly at 1270 grams all the time...and others fly well into the 1300 gram range.
     
  15. Ravecreative

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medway, Kent, UK
    Well I'm up to 1260, but that 3rd axis is another 120grams approx.
    so that's 1380......

    They state 1300 MAX in capital letters.
     
  16. havasuphoto

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Lake Havasu, AZ
    Yea....just add Vision 2 props, and away you go!!!
    They're flying it with a Phantom 2, with Vision props.....

    I don't know how Zen would do anything different, and still be under 1300grams-not possible.
     
  17. Ravecreative

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medway, Kent, UK
    are vision props different?
     
  18. havasuphoto

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Lake Havasu, AZ
    Yea-they're 9 1/2" long, Vs. 8" for the stock prop, and have a much more aggressive pitch.
    There are currently 3 or 4 thread on just adding the props to the Phantom 1.x
     
  19. Ravecreative

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medway, Kent, UK
    OMG im so confused now

    my props are part no 9443 and R, they came standard with my p2 non-vision
    they are stated across the net that these are the same as vision props

    am i missing something?
     
  20. havasuphoto

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Lake Havasu, AZ
    Nope-you have the latest and greatest props(IMHO). You should be good to over 1300 grams, easy.
    The stated max t/o weight of a Phantom 1 is 1000 grams-I think. And, I'm at 1270(along with many others), without issue.
    Battery life suffers-down to around 5 or 6 minutes...but with 2700mah batteries it goes up to 8 minutes.