2 quick ?s: shell & ATTI

QYV

Reaction score
I don't have any stickers applied and wasn't paying attention last night and I mounted the top shell on backwards. I don't have my good tools and really don't want to turn it back around right now... could it cause any problem? I think it's just the GPS receiver up there so I don't think it matters? I've flown a couple times before I even noticed... no issues and the Home Point seems accurate via my iOSD.

I'm also in Naza mode now and starting to fly in ATTI. I'm pretty sure I know the answer but ATTI isn't just lateral float, it's vertical as well yes? so like if there's a sudden updraft or downdraft you will gain/lose altitude with the wind?

I'm pretty new to all of this, but what I do know is if your build your own (ie 450/550) the GPS has an arrow on it and must be facing forward. My best guess is GPS is directional.

EDIT
Those units have a built-in compass, plus doesn't.. Mine is stable in ATTI as far as elevation, but will drift with the wind

Top shell definitely needs to be oriented properly, the GPS antenna inside is directional and will seriously throw the NAZA off if it's not in alignment with the direction the NAZA expects it to be. The screw holes for the GPS board in the lid are uniquely offset so you can't mount it there wrong, you just have to be careful to get the lid back on properly.

As for ATTI, that mode only stabilizes the attitude of the aircraft, i.e. no roll or pitch unless you give stick input in that direction. When in this mode the Phantom should maintain a level attitude, but it will drift laterally with the wind and may be carried up or down as well with drafts or currents.

awesome thanks! Switching it back now

2 quick ?s: shell & ATTI