Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

2 quick questions

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by lilewis, Feb 29, 2016.

  1. lilewis

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    7
    Phantom 3 Standard:

    Received a new P3S in December. Haven't flown it yet but have been studying the manuals and reading the forums, and I have 2 questions:

    I have been using the flight simulator app at home while waiting for winter to end, and I took off the propellers to make sure I didn't do something stupid in the house.

    Question 1: If the P3S were to start without the propellers would that damage the motors. I assume so but am curious if my assumption is correct.

    Question 2: I now have access to a large indoor arena (actually a sports complex) and the owner will let me practice when no one else is using it. I assume practicing GoToHome will not work indoors since the P3S will see no satellites, and the calibrated compass would likely be misled because of the possibility (probability) of indoor interference? Can someone here confirm both of my concerns, or correct me if I am wrong.
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,850
    Likes Received:
    5,556
    Location:
    US
    No.

    Some people still get a sufficient GPS signal indoors. You'd have to try it and see.

    It's best to only calibrate the compass outdoors -- away from any metal objects/structures.
     
  3. rockydog

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    248
    Location:
    London UK
    If you get satellites and decide to practise Return to Home indoors, make sure you have the height set below ceiling level !
     
    QuadBart and Bob8619 like this.
  4. 250Flyer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I would NOT recommend trying return to home in doors... You are asking for trouble.

    The quad must raise to 15-20 meters for the quad to judge accurate home point with at least 7 sat... Lowering the height lowers accuracy of return to home, plus GPS is up and down in doors and it wont be accurate, GPS would be in and out also causing drift issues - which would see the quad switching from GPS to ATTI mode in it's own.

    You would be very lucky if you didn't crash

    Always fly in ATTI mode in doors (no GPS) so you're in FULL manual mode control.
     
    #4 250Flyer, Feb 29, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2016
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,850
    Likes Received:
    5,556
    Location:
    US
    If the Phantom has a sufficient GPS signal indoors, it'll still attempt to RTH if the remote controller signal is lost when flying in ATTI. FYI.
     
  6. 250Flyer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    My point is, GPS in doors is not accurate... Trying return to home in P-GPS mode IN DOORS would be asking for trouble.
     
  7. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,850
    Likes Received:
    5,556
    Location:
    US
    Right on. And, my point is that you need to be wary if you're flying indoors with a GPS signal since your Phantom could still RTH.
     
  8. 250Flyer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, less likely in ATTI mode because it doesn't rely on GPS to keep a steady hover, in ATTI mode the quad will drift around requiring the pilot to be in full control.
     
  9. jbe420

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    15
    Just saying your new practice get better before you fly flying in atti mode is harder and can easily mess up


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. 250Flyer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    In that case, he should only be flying in large open spaces outdoors with solid GPS.

    Flying in doors would require stick movement at all times due to wind generated from props, bouncing off walls etc etc... I hope no one relies on GPS in doors
     
    jbe420 likes this.
  11. 250Flyer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I'll add it's not that hard to fly in ATTI mode in doors, I have flown in my house before using ATTI mostly hovering - as long as you know what you are doing.

    I would not recommend it if you are unsure and don't know orientation of flying.

    Stick to outdoors and practise hovering first in GPS mode.
     
  12. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,850
    Likes Received:
    5,556
    Location:
    US
    Losing the RC connection has nothing to do with flying in ATTI mode. Perhaps I'm missing your point though.
     
  13. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    I run my motors indoors sans props routinely to listen for anamolies.
     
  14. 250Flyer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Losing connection is another matter.

    Shouldn't need to worry about that unless there's strong interference or long distant flights??
     
  15. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,850
    Likes Received:
    5,556
    Location:
    US
    Or, you point your RC away from the Phantom, the RC battery dies, you turn the RC off, or you accidentally initiate RTH. Whatever the case, it's important to understand how to fly indoors safely. It's not as easy as just telling someone to fly in ATTI.
     
  16. 250Flyer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Not sure what your point is here...

    First of all, I am not telling anyone to fly in doors unless they know what they are doing.. In fact my way is safer than what you suggested - telling him to "try GPS in doors" could lead to injury or property damage as GPS does not work well in doors.

    Secondly -

    Before flying, you should ALWAYS make sure of these steps are taken before you attempt to fly... That includes, making sure the quad, transmitter and tablet/phone are charged before flying. (As you should know, this should be a standard procedure) regardless...

    Plus the rest of the pre-flight checklist.

    Last time I read the manual stated not to fly in doors using GPS but in ATTI mode.
     
  17. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,850
    Likes Received:
    5,556
    Location:
    US
    My point is that flying in ATTI mode does not disable GPS. My comments are not directed toward you. I'm simply trying to give the OP more information since he's asking questions about GPS and RTH. Ignorance is not bliss when flying a Phantom indoors.
     
  18. 250Flyer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    ATTI mode only uses barometer to maintain altitude it only uses GPS to hold it's hover/position and return to home, which is why it drifts around in ATTI and not GPS mode.
     
  19. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,850
    Likes Received:
    5,556
    Location:
    US
    Every flight mode uses the barometer to maintain altitude.
     
  20. 250Flyer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Yes I know, but ATTI mode (ONLY) uses Barometer and not both (GPS and Barometer) together, which is why it drifts around...

    Man lol