Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

[13]Potentiometer

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by SteveMann, Nov 11, 2014.

  1. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    653
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    What does this potentiometer (just below the camera tilt lever) control? The manual says nothing that I can find.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. smallman28

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    1
    Personally I think it is something to do with adjusting the transmitter power output.
    Would make some sense given the different laws in various countries.
     
  3. goldfishrock

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    On some versions of the transmitter I believe it is used to change the strength of the output signal.
     
  4. Fyod

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Central EU
    Only on Visions. No use for NV Phantoms.
     
  5. aartsf

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    3
    With that pot you can chance CE transmitter output to FCC transmitter output Wth fcc you contrle your bird over a langer distance. What output is allowed depends on the country you fly. CE is european regulation and fcc is bassically us regulation.
     
  6. Fyod

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Central EU
    Yes, but only on the Vision (5.8Ghz).
    It doesn't have much to do with distance or height (although they do increase - on the Vision), but rather 5.8Ghz transmitter signal strength regulations.
    A 600mW video transmitter that runs on 5.8Ghz, which most of us use, is also "not legal" in some parts of the world. A 250mW usually is within regulated frequency strength limits.
     
  7. npalen

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kansas
    I believe that my former FC40 had this same adjustment for CE and FCC. I believe turning the pot fully clockwise was for FCC.
     
  8. Fyod

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Central EU
    Many Txs will. In the case of the Phantom, it would be financially unviable to make two different cases and two different PCB's just because of a $0.10 part (the pot), so they're all made the same, except on Non-Visions it has no functionality. Although you can turn is as much as you like.