Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

128GB Micro SD UHS-1

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by jeganx, Jul 20, 2016.

  1. jeganx

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    51
    Bought the wrong MicroSD.... I got 128GB UHS-1 MicroSD and just checked Phantom 3 spec, it says max 64GB... Has anyone ever tried using 128GB MicroSD on their bird? Really hope I can use this 128GB on the bird.

    EDIT: In case it's TL;DR, I tried it and go app shows 128GB. So I think its not a problem. I will soon find out after recording without erasing the files. See if it can really write up to 128GB.
     
    #1 jeganx, Jul 20, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2016
  2. wflo927

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I bought it during the Amazon sale too. Uhh I didn't even know a max gb was a thing! Hopefully someone can chime in. I did film with the 128gb but obviously have not even gotten close to max capacity yet.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
    jeganx likes this.
  3. phxbird57

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    408
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    have you tried it in the drones camera and if so will it write to it. I'm not sure why you're asking if it will work when you can test it and tell us. Allot of the time a manufacturer put on the high cap. card of time of manufacturing. Not know that in two month there will be a higher cap. card out. They won't update because it not being tested. Some time it will work and other times it will not. So put it in and see. you may have to format it and it may only format to 64 gb's. Best way is to format it in the drones camera see what it formats to if it's formats to 128 gb next step is to do a video and see if it writes to the card with out errors. the camera will tell you if it can't write to it. You will hear it though the phone or tablet .
     
    jeganx likes this.
  4. phxbird57

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    408
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    have you looked at the video from the card yet?
     
  5. jeganx

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    51
    I guess I just want to be careful with an $800 device. Another thing is, I think the fw is stored inside the microsd. I will probably give it a try. Copy all the files from the existing microsd to the 128GB and put it inside the bird, see if it works. I know what you are saying, some smartphone manufacturers also did the same, putting a cap while in reality they can read the bigger microsd.
     
  6. jeganx

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    51
    Actually you are close, try connect your P3 to your laptop and see the properties whether it is still 128GB or not. I think go app can also see how much storage left on your microsd. if it add up to 128Gb, then I believe its not a problem.
     
  7. Shep

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Phoenix
    I have a 128 and it works.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
    phxbird57 and jeganx like this.
  8. phxbird57

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    408
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    The fw isn't stored on the card it's store in the drone other wise you can't fly with out the card and you can do that. ou just use the card to update the fw. yes the files are on there back it's already saved in the drone.
     
  9. phxbird57

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    408
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Sweet there cheaper that the smaller ones.
     
  10. phxbird57

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    408
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    Shep I see your in Phx also. I'm over in Chandler area.
     
  11. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,921
    Likes Received:
    5,573
    Location:
    US
    DJI does advertise 64GB as the max memory card size, but it seems there really is no max. I've seen someone say even a 256GB memory cards work.
     
    phxbird57 and jeganx like this.
  12. Storm

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    34
    Why is a large GB card needed? I use a 16gb, after flight I go home and upload to my computer then put card back in cam and format. Always have plenty of space. Just asking, does everyone just keep their vid files stored on card?

    Sent from my SCH-I545 using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  13. jeganx

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    51
    Some people might have more than 1 battery and when recording at 4K or 1080p60, they will run out of space real fast.
     
  14. Shep

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Howdy..


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  15. phxbird57

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    408
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    You on the east or west valley
     
  16. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,122
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    64GB size limitation means P3 can address upto 64GB though you can use a bigger sized card.
     
  17. jeganx

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    51
    Could you please enlighten me what it means to "address up to 64GB"?

    Just to let everyone know I tried it and go app shows 128GB.
     
  18. Shep

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Phoenix
    I am NW - think Lake Pleasant and Happy Valley Roads.
     
  19. phxbird57

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    408
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    wow that is on the other end the valley from me. My buddy did a video of the lake a few weeks back. I don't get over there to offend. I do want to do some flying over by Wickenburg, along the train tracks just south of the town.