Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

123456789

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by wat17, Jan 2, 2014.

  1. wat17

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    4
    123456789
     
  2. macheung

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    4
    Re: Do you attach a cord to your Phantom

    Thought about it, but a long enough cord would be too heavy and can get ensnared.
     
  3. Jimmy Jim

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Do you attach a cord to your Phantom

    This can't be a serious question ?
     
  4. wat17

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Re: Do you attach a cord to your Phantom

    Yep its serious. Could be especially useful in high density areas where the potential for fly away is higher and more damaging.

    How heavy is a ball of string? Think it would be light enough.

    I realise it sounds a bit extreme.
     
  5. hurseyc

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Do you attach a cord to your Phantom

    Please don't do that. Asking for trouble.
     
  6. THell

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Do you attach a cord to your Phantom

    It's not a kite....

    I can only see that leading to all manors of BAD!

    Trees, overhead cables, if you fly over a road could snag a car and go for a long ride... just see this ending in :shock: :eek: :cry: :cry: :oops:
     
  7. LeoS

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: Do you attach a cord to your Phantom

    Think of the physics and risks of this.

    Consider the weight of the string, how you could maintain it's position (tautness, etc) as you move around, the risk of it getting tangled up on trees, other objects and even your propellers.

    Etc.
     
  8. wat17

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Re: Do you attach a cord to your Phantom

    Fairly good repsosne. Thanks
     
  9. Yelgir

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Do you attach a cord to your Phantom

    I'm a total novice when it comes to DJI Phantoms; however, instead of attaching a piece of string to your DJI, has anyone considered attaching an iPhone, so if your DJI goes missing you could use the 'Find My iPhone' app to find both your DJI and iPhone?
     
  10. LeoS

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: Do you attach a cord to your Phantom

    look up 'gps trackers', there's been numerous threads on those.

    They're lighter, cheaper, lasts a whole lot longer, can work on SMS (doesn't need data coverage).

    Another hint, to do a search on this site, go to google and use this format:

    http://bit.ly/JNh7AH

    It works better than the default search engine.
     
  11. THell

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Do you attach a cord to your Phantom

    There is a thread called track that drone that has quite a discussion on this subject of tracking in the event of a flyaway
     
  12. gbshovel

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Conneaut Ohio
    Re: Do you attach a cord to your Phantom

    Please post a video when you crash ! I want to see it. :lol:
     
  13. PTCX

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Australia
    Re: Do you attach a cord to your Phantom

    Yes,but only a USB cord to check Naza settings. :lol:
     
  14. Jimmy Jim

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Do you attach a cord to your Phantom


    You have to be fishing. No sane person would consider string. All the tech and research into this and you suggest string? Maybe they should attach string to the Dreamliner as well? Aerospace is hiring aspiring young minds.
     
  15. Phantom556

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Do you attach a cord to your Phantom

    The best way to implement this would be to get in your car, drive to Walmart buy a kite, drive home, take your phantom, throw it out, then fly your new kite. Enjoy the kite with the string. :D
     
  16. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    Re: Do you attach a cord to your Phantom

    A surprising amount of hostility here! Of course it's probably not a good idea but the dogpile is a bit harsh, isn't it?

    I've heard of a few implementations of tethering systems for quads, they tend to be quite specialized (power delivery for continuous flight time, getting around technical FAA rules) but it's not like it's unheard of.
     
  17. Ksc

    Ksc

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    Re: Do you attach a cord to your Phantom

    best answer ever
     
  18. len750

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    14
    Re: Do you attach a cord to your Phantom

    http://www.pettracker.com/

    This works great for me. I also take it on my dirt bike and quad so my wife can have peace of mind if I go out alone. I have a Polaris Razor, and when I go out with it, If I go hiking away from it, I strap it it to the Razor so if someone trys to steal it, I can easily track it.
     
  19. rickhz

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Do you attach a cord to your Phantom

    I actually did this for my first couple flights. It worked fine, no tangle or anything... The only problem is if you allow the craft to go to the end of the string, the craft tries to fight the pull VERY aggressively. Thankfully my string was only about 20 feet long, and the craft was out to my side, and about 6 feet high when the line went taught, the coptor tried to fight it, and down it came... So, yes it can work IF you do not allow the line to go taught. If you do...it won't be good.
     
  20. rickhz

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Do you attach a cord to your Phantom

    LMAO, I guess you haven't seen the dozens of reports and videos describing how Phantoms have taken off on their own.

    Technology is wonderful. When it works.