Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

10 Sats indoor after upgrading on P3S

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by linhct2413, Mar 19, 2016.

  1. linhct2413

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    I recently upgraded my firmware to latest version on my P3S, after upgrading, I can see 10 Sats even I'm indoor.
    Is that normal ? Just tried to fly and the bird is stable ! Green leds blink. Anyone faces the same ?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. mcphipps

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Wheatfield Indiana
    Awesome. I never get any in the house.
     
  3. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    261
    Location:
    Girard. ohio

    I have ready to fly all the time inside...

    never had the .... to try to fly inside though.. maybe old p2 fear though still....
     
  4. mcphipps

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Wheatfield Indiana
    My house must be a bomb shelter...LOL
     
    Robert Motley likes this.
  5. souldronedlyer

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    17
    From Garmin
    "GPS satellites transmit two low power radio signals, designated L1 and L2. Civilian GPS uses the L1 frequency of 1575.42 MHz in the UHF band. The signals travel by line of sight, meaning they will pass through clouds, glass and plastic but will not go through most solid objects such as buildings and mountains."

    So my guess is unless you live in a glass house or the quad is right next to a window. Something is wrong


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. linhct2413

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're correct, Souldronelyer, I'm in the country and my parent's roof made from wood. I can fly indoor without any doubts, so Ultrasonic sensors on P3A and P3P are useless now, hahaha !
     
  7. souldronedlyer

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    17
    Ultrasonic sensor is not a GPS receivers. Apple and orange


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    linhct2413 likes this.
  8. linhct2413

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha, I meant that I can fly indoor like P3A and P3P :D
     
  9. souldronedlyer

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    17
    Just don't hit that RTH switch no matter what. :)


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. KEN5423

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    USA
    After my update yesterday I got 9 in my living room.
     
  11. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    I got 10 in bedroom never got that before upgrade has done wonderful things getting better range also
     
  12. linhct2413

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    But, I wonder that when checking DJI GO app, I see aircraft version is 1.2.40+, anyone faces the same ?
     
  13. stavrossid

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Athens-Greece
    Great increase in satellites here too!