1.1.9 to 1.4.0010: Constant Disconnections

Reaction score
Hi All,

I've been flying heli's and drones for a few years, however my P3P which I got about a month ago is my first move into more serious territory. Living in the inner city (Melbourne, Australia) I only really have a couple of options for large open spaces in which to fly. As a result I have a circuit that is very uniform, both in the my home location and in the flight paths I tend to take. I completed 11 flights on the 1.1.9 firmware (which my drone was running when I got it) without issue. I have uploaded all my logs to healthydrones and looking at my 3 most recent flights in this area prior to upgrading firmware there was only 1 disconnection at nearly 800m out.

I recently purchased a DJI hardshell case and a few spare batteries from a local drone dealer, and while doing this I spoke to their tech regarding firmware who said they usually just go with whatever the latest is. This plus the lure of the new flight modes proved too much for me, so I ended up upgrading all my kit to 1.3.20, and then to 1.4.0010.

I have since done two flights in this same park and decided to cut it short as the controller kept flicking into Atti mode. Looking at the logs for these flights they are full of disconnection notices, several within 10m from home base. I'll post the pre and post healthydrone reports later. I have been trying to think of anything that was different, and the only things aside from the obvious firmware and DJI Go App updates was that prior to launch on the new firmware I got a IMU error and had to do a full IMU calibration and I never used to bother turning off Wifi on my phone where as this time around I did. Other than that there is nothing else of note. Weather was similar (i.e not wet or windy), no buildings/structures obscuring view, etc. I was running a very similar flight path to what I have been doing on the 1.1.9 firmware.

Any ideas? Am I able to downgrade firmware at all?